Review: Uncanny, Volume One: Season of Hungry Ghosts, by Andy Diggle

Uncanny, Volume 1: Season of Hungry GhostsUncanny, Volume 1: Season of Hungry Ghosts by Andy Diggle
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I have to say, this was actually a disappointment…

description

I’ve usually really enjoyed Andy Diggle’s work. However, I really tried this because my library’s online catalogue said it was Sean Phillips artwork, but it was only just covers…
That and from where it started, I was hopeful, but it didn’t do what I needed it to do: be great.

This feels like a Brubaker/Phillips book, and that’s a great start, but then it doesn’t follow that up. For every part I liked, there were at least 2 I didn’t.

Continue reading

Review – The Fox: Freak Magnet

18310325

Writer:  Mark Waid  Artist/Writer:  Dean Haspiel

Three stars!

Ooooh lookee! It’s a tribute to old time comic book storytelling.

Are we talking Silver Age Marvel or DC?

Um, no. It’s more like Charltan or Gold Key comics.

Who?

If you aren’t some super nerd like me, that would certainly be a logical response. Even as a kid, I had a hard time laboring through this stuff. Still, there on the cover, it has Mark Waid’s name, so it would seem to be worth a read. Right?

Continue reading