Superman/Wonder Woman, Volume 1: Power Couple by Charles Soule

Superman/Wonder Woman, Volume 1: Power CoupleSuperman/Wonder Woman, Volume 1: Power Couple by Charles Soule

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Hey, this is not half bad. I will never be a real fan of the Supes/WW ship, but I can read it. Especially when the Kent looks delicious in the occasional panel.
Current comic boyfriend ranking:
1. Nightwing
2. Batman
3. Aquaman
4. Superman…when someone draws him right

So dating is not an easy thing apparently, even you were blessed with the speed of sound, god-level intellect and invulnerability. Who knew?

I thought the ideological difference in Clark’s and Diana’s philosophies and the way it played out in a relationship was pretty well done. I felt the romance, loved Bruce’s best friend-ness, though I don’t remember when Bats was okay with this. Also, I was strangely fascinated by Doomsday’s people killing shots. The whole disco scene was kinda weird (also what is this Cat Grant character doing?), but I got over it.

In fact, while it didn’t wow me, I don’t really have anything to pick on. EXCEPT THIS ONE PANEL.

Nope nope nope. No way does a woman who punches things day in and day out have a French manicure like that. I can’t wash my hands without polish peeling off. I’m calling this now. THOSE ARE FAKE NAILS MADE OF WHATEVER BATS’ SUIT IS MADE OF, ‘CAUSE NO WAY DOES WW HAVE PERFECT NAILS. She wasn’t a goddess yet.

So that’s that, and I think this is a pretty good comic. I was surprised. 3.5 stars because it is not an impressive plot, but definitely interesting.

Here’s my Valentine’s Day gift to my friends. No thanks required.

One thought on “Superman/Wonder Woman, Volume 1: Power Couple by Charles Soule

  1. Pingback: Shallow Reader Post – Power Couple | The Endless Reading List

Leave a Reply

