Review: Loki: Agent of Asgard, Vol. 1: Trust Me by Al Ewing, Lee Garbett (Illustrator)

Loki: Agent of Asgard, Vol. 1: Trust MeLoki: Agent of Asgard, Vol. 1: Trust Me by Al Ewing

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

description

I’m not really a fan of Hiddleston as a sex symbol, but I know a lot of you ladies are, so…
You’re welcome.

As far as this title went, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
It mixes up the god of Mischief with a James Bondesque con man, and spits out a fun tongue-in-cheek heist caper.
Loki has steadily grown in popularity with the mainstream audiences since his appearances in the Marvel movies, so we’re now seeing this translate into comic book titles. Sometimes, a move like this can backfire and alienate the hardcore readers.
But Marvel seems to have the golden touch right now, and with the popularity of titles like Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 1: Cosmic Avengers making both movie and comic fans relatively happy, it appears they are reading the pulse of both new and old fans quite well.

The character of Loki in this one might be somewhat confusing, if you haven’t managed to read all of the tie-in books. I’m currently digging around to find the source material for all the changes to this guy, but even without all the pertinent information, this one was still a lot of fun.
Basically, you need to know that the old Loki died, was resurrected as a child (Kid Loki), was overtaken by a somewhat bad version of himself, and is now a twentysomething trying to (maybe?) atone for his evil ways.
There may be more to the story, but that’s what I’ve got so far…

As of right now, he’s working as an agent for All-Mother in the service for Asgard, with each completed mission erasing some of his past sins from recorded history.
However, there’s a snag in the plan. A big one.
Too bad for you, I’m not handing out spoilers in this review!

The parts of this volume that had Loki running around in present day, conning gods and mortals?

Excellent stuff!

But the parts that were set in the past, with all of the olden tale adventures?
Well, I’m going to have to agree with Sam’s review, and say that that part was less interesting.
I did, however, enjoy when the stories finally collided.
And the story with Sigurd and ‘Kaluu’ was laugh out loud funny on so many levels, that I’d almost recommend this title for that part of the issue alone.

I think fans of the new Loki are gonna love this one.
I know I’ll certainly be coming back for more!

View all my reviews