Review: Coffin Hill Vol. 1: Forest of the Night by Caitlin Kittredge, Iñaki Miranda (Illustrations)

Coffin Hill Vol. 1: Forest of the NightCoffin Hill Vol. 1: Forest of the Night by Caitlin Kittredge

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I didn’t think it was particularly awful, but it kind of felt a bit like a teeny-bopper horror story.

 

Eve is a rookie cop who apparently stumbles upon a serial killer, and takes him down.

Yay, EVE!

She gets hurt in the altercation, and heads home to face her demons…
*FLASHBACK TIME*
Once upon a time, Eve and her (dysfunctional) gothy friends head into the spooky forest.
They do a little dance, make a little love, and get down that night…
Or.
They call up a bad-ass entity that eats one, drives another crazy, and leaves Eve with a weird blown-out eyeball.
description

Why is Eve not dead or drooling on herself, you ask?
Well, she apparently comes from a long line of powerful witches.
And whatever they set loose that night, was part of her her family legacy.

Will Eve embrace the EVIL, or fight against it?!

Not too shabby, right?
Ehhhh.
See, the thing is, young Eve isn’t the most sympathetic character. She’s sort of mean, a bit self-centered, and has a tendency to act a tad skanky.
And by skanky, I mean she keeps trying to get into the pants of her BFF’s boyfriend.
But maybe that’s ok? Because her pal seemed to know about it, and not care.
Which made it weird on another level for me…

Now the older Eve has a few more redeeming qualities, and I don’t mind characters who are darkish and quasi-evil. As long as they aren’t totally rotten, I can eventually get behind them.
So I’m thinking that perhaps this might be one of those characters that grows on me?

I enjoyed the art, and the spooky tone to the story, and I’d be willing to continue with the next volume to see if it goes anywhere.

View all my reviews