Review: Marvel Knights: Hulk – Transformé; by Joe Keatinge

Marvel Knights: Hulk: TransformeMarvel Knights: Hulk: Transforme by Joe Keatinge
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Bruce Banner wakes up floating in the Seine in Paris; he’s been shot, and he doesn’t know why or who he is. People are chasing him; they want him to unleash the Hulk so they can use it for their own means. Only problem is…Banner doesn’t know who he (OR Hulk) is, so he can’t unleash the beast.

Eventually, we get a SUPER Hulk, when Banner is injected with Abomination/Synthetic Hulk serum. He’s HUGE! Destroys a chunk of Paris at the whim of a lady who’s the child of AIM researchers and Assassin DNA…yup.

So she manages to get Hulk to do her bidding for a time, until Banner makes a return from the void of wherever he’s been banished to.

Eventually, we see that Doom/MODOK/Midas have all been aware of this since the beginning, and we’re lead to believe that maybe they have been responsible for the Hulk? Or maybe just the girl who’s trying to use him for her own problems.

This is more of a cerebral volume on the duality of Hulk/Banner and struggle for identity and control. However…don’t worry Jeff, there’s a TON of HULK SMASH! and HULK SMASH A SHITLOAD!

description

As a bonus, we get a reprint of the #1 issue of Hulk by Stan the Man and Jack Kirby. It’s a bit hokey, but there’s some solid stuff there (which has been echoed in the story we just read). It’s cool to see, and shines some insight onto the creators’ ideas of what the book is about.

One thing I did love, was that the Hulk Green is all over the book. The art is almost sepia/bland tones, so that when the Green shows up, it’s all you can focus on. I particularly enjoyed neon Gamma Green bursts of colour.

An interesting idea, decent story, we’ll let the resident Hulk expert Jeff tell us if it’s worth Hulk-lovers time.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

Leave a comment