Superman Unchained by Scott Snyder

Superman UnchainedSuperman Unchained by Scott Snyder

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

You should know, if there was a scale of ranking for heroes, I’d put Superman in the sub-zeroes. That’s how much I don’t like the character. He’s so damned boring and everything is super (heh) convenient for him. Yeah, no.

BUT.
This is Snyder. So he manages to make me give a 4 star. Because Supey is sort of interesting in this one.

Seriously though, the book is pretty great. I loved the cinematic storyline and panels to match. It’s Kal El, so everything is larger than life. The art was the glossy kind which I’m fond of, and I liked it when everyone’s eyes go all scary red. Plus, this happened:

Oh, who am I kidding? It was the Batman appearance that did me in. Bruce is so chill in this one, it’s great.
That line about the Batmobile insurance? Freaking hilarious!

The thing with Snyder’s writing though, is that it always goes off into this dramatic, didactic narration which I’m not a fan of. He’s a genius at creating detailed people, but he won’t let us absorb the beauty of the story. And the whole Lois and the pretty gemstone thing was confusing.

Those are minor complaints though. I’m pretty happy to recommend this one for the dialogue, the Bruce and Clark friendship (which I have loved forever), corn bagels and really cool art. Applause for this epicness:

I always love it when the icon of my home city is held up by a surfing ad.

One thought on “Superman Unchained by Scott Snyder

  1. Pingback: Shallow Reader Post – Superman Unchained | The Endless Reading List

Leave a Reply

