Superman, Vol. 6: The Men of Tomorrow by Geoff Johns

Superman, Vol. 6: The Men of TomorrowSuperman, Vol. 6: The Men of Tomorrow by Geoff Johns
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

4.5 stars

Say what you want about Geoff Johns, but he definitely knows how to pump new life into iconic characters.
This was FANTASTIC!

description

The biggest downer was the art, but I may be the only person who isn’t in love with John Romita Jr’s stuff. It’s not horrible, but I miss Kenneth Rocafort. Sorry, I just think his stuff is pretty to look at, and while JRJ is a beloved illustrator, I’m just not into him.

description

Other than that, there’s simply nothing wrong with this volume, though.
Ok, you know how I constantly bitch about crossovers & events hijacking every single title out there? Yeah. Well, it doesn’t happen here! This is literally one cohesive story!
What the what?! I didn’t even know they did that anymore?!

description

This next bit might be a mild spoiler, but I don’t think so, because it happens on the first few pages, and is alluded to in the blurb.

So there’s a brand new character that gets introduced, and he’s got the same backstory as Superman. His planet was dying, and in a last ditch effort, his scientist parents managed to shove him into a parallel world.

description

The kicker?
He’s from Earth!
At the last minute, the crisis was averted, and his parents had no way to get their son back. Just like Superman, he gained superpowers and is now his adopted home planet’s protector.
Now imagine his surprise when he chases a bad guy through a worm hole, and discovers that his version of Krytpon is alive!

description

Ok, that’s as far as I’m willing to go with that story.
But, for what it’s worth, I absolutely loved it!

description

Also got a bit of the Batman/Superman bromance in this, which makes the volume pretty much perfect!

description

Johns does a fabulous job showing off Clark, in all of his awkward glory, and helping the reader connect with Superman’s problems. And they are admittedly hard to see, unless the you have a talented writer who cares about his character.

description

There’s another big thing that happens in this one, but I don’t want to spoil it too much. It was one of those things that made me feel…good.

description

And at the end of the day, that’s why I love Superman. He’s just good, and reading about him gives me the warm fuzzies.

description

Highly recommended for fans of the Big Blue.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Superman, Vol. 6: The Men of Tomorrow by Geoff Johns

Leave a Reply

