Get Jiro: Blood and Sushi

Get Jiro: Blood and SushiGet Jiro: Blood and Sushi by Anthony Bourdain
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

(Received from Netgalley for review.)

This is Jiro’s origin story, and it reads more like a straight action movie than the previous book. I think I liked the first one a bit more, though. It had more focus on the food, which is what really interested me. This one has a lot more truly senseless violence, and Jiro’s brother is so over the top as a character that he was more annoying than fun after awhile. And even with the back story, Jiro still isn’t terribly interesting as a character. But as an action film, it’s pretty solid, just not the sort of thing that I would usually love.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

