Review: Moriarty

MoriartyMoriarty by Daniel Corey
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

description
20 years after the death of Sherlock Holmes (hope that’s not a spoiler), James Moriarty has sunken into a melancholy existence on the shadowy streets of the city of London. Withdrawn, he has little interest in the world around him as it teeters on the brink of the largest war in history, content to mind the small portion that remains of the vast criminal underworld he once controlled. That is, until ghosts from his past return to drag him from the obscurity in which he has settled and back into the city’s contemporary nether world.

description

Sounds pretty fuckin’ good to me. Probably why I’m not 100% sure I didn’t fall in love with it. It started strong. Some familiar characters from Holmes’ prior stories and world history made appearances and that was pretty cool. I genuinely liked Moriarty as the protagonist here. But Daniel Corey’s book fell off its pace at about the midway point and never seemed to get back on track after that. The 2nd half had more of a bizarre paranormal vibe that I never bought into and didn’t enjoy it as much as the beginning of the book. Not bad, but not to my taste. I think I would’ve preferred it stayed more of a mystery rather than goin’ all X-Files.

description

Artistically, Anthony Diecidue was my favorite of the 3 illustrators that contributed (the others being Mike Vosburg and Perry Freeze). Diecidue’s sketchy style was the real reason I picked this one up. It simply appealed to me. Vosburg and Freeze’s styles were close enough to Anthony’s to keep it from being jarring during the changes, but I still noticed the differences immediately and neither charmed me the way Anthony’s did.

description

Overall, I got this book dirt-cheap and it was worth the cash. Probably would’ve been more disappointed had I paid full price. I’d recommend this one to fans of Arthur Conan Doyle’s original detective. I think they’d appreciate what Corey did with Doyle’s characters here more than most.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

