Review: Irredeemable Vol. 1

Irredeemable, Vol. 1Irredeemable, Vol. 1 by Mark Waid
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

description
Superheroes gone bad has been done before (a bunch), but I have to give Mark Waid credit for doin’ it well. This was a recommendation from one of my Shallow Comic Reading life partners (Either The Incredible Jeff or my favorite Ontarioian, Gavin) I’m not exactly sure which one’na my shorties it was due to all the brain damage from years of recreational pharmaceuticals. But it was a damn good one.

description

Volume 1 seems to be mostly set up for exactly what the Plutonian (this series rogue Superman) is capable of, how seemingly pointless it is to fight him, and just how fucked up my man is. NO ONE IS SAFE. Not his former allies, not his old enemies, and not the lady running for her life clutching her baby. Waid manages to cram in enough mass murder, psychotic breaks, weird-ass sexual shit, and infanticide to make me wonder if this is the same guy that’s writing Daredevil. Who knew Mark had a little Ennis in’em. Ultimately, he does manage to stifle the carnage and leave just enough heroes alive and questions unanswered to keep me interested in continuing with the series.

description

Peter Krause’s artwork is good. Middle of the road in terms of verve for me, but I tend to lean more towards the highly stylized stuff. But it’s certainly serviceable.

description

If you’ve enjoyed other books like Moore’s Watchman, Ennis’The Boys, or any one of the Superman as a baddie stories that have been told over the years you should probably check this out.
Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

