Review: Manifest Destiny Vol. 1: Flora and Fauna

Manifest Destiny, Vol. 1: Flora & FaunaManifest Destiny, Vol. 1: Flora & Fauna by Chris Dingess
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

description

You know what I remember about U.S. History class? The shape of the girl’s ass that sat 2 seats in front of me and wore bike shorts (the 80’s answer to yoga pants) every…single…day…..and stealing the answers to the final exam out of the teacher’s desk to pass the class by the skin of my teeth. I guarantee that if History class had been more like Manifest Destiny this dip-shit would’ve gotten at least a “B” and probably had a lot fewer embarrassing erections.

description

Manifest Destiny Vol.1: Flora and Fauna follows Captain Meriwether Lewis and 2nd Lieutenant William Clark’s trek into the then unexplored North American frontier. This time these guys have more than just angry Native Americans to worry about. Dingess adds to the adventure by mixing healthy portions of the fantasy and horror genres into the action to create something a lot more interesting. To me anyway.

description

This first volume spends a lot of time fleshing out Lewis and Clark’s personalities, their histories, and just what their stakes are in this venture. Lewis, being the scientist of the pair, is constantly cataloguing and scribbling away in his journal, which also acts as the narrator for portions of the story. Clark is the war-hardened veteran. A brave, stoic, and no bullshit kinda guy that hands out lashes for even the most minor infractions. Surround them with a crew comprised of seasoned soldiers and paranoid convicts and shit really gets interesting.

description

Then, to sweeten the pot even more, throw in some mythical beasts, lethal plants, a few bloody battles, some creepy elements, hints of what might be a shady government conspiracy, and the most interesting take on Sacagawea that I’ve ever read and the hook is set. I’m all in.

description

Matthew Roberts is pretty darn good artist. Here’s another Image illustrator that’s totally new to me that I’ll be looking out for down the road. His style reminded me a bit of Tony Moore (of Fear Agent and early Walking Dead fame). Owen Gieni also did a wonderful job coloring the book.

description

There are a bunch of excellent books out there that have been blending genres really well. Hellboy, The Sixth Gun, and Copperhead being some good examples. I’d say Manifest Destiny falls into this category as well. Another shout out to Image Comics for yet another creator owned title that’s certainly worth checking out if anything you read in this review interests you.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

