Review: Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson , Adrian Alphona (Artist), Jacob Wyatt (Artist)

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation WhyMs. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

 

 

 

Please don’t hate me, but…
I didn’t love this as much as everyone else.

The first part with Wolverine was a lot of fun, and, at the same time, sort of touching and sweet. The art was pretty ugly in spots, but I’m learning to suck it up and move past that sort of thing. Kinda.

description

Warning: Some Spoilers Ahead!

I also enjoyed Lockjaw showing up to be her pet, but the whole ‘he couldn’t come inside because he was unclean’ thing sort of threw me. I guess this is part of her religion, but I wish it had been explained better. Then again, a lot of people don’t allow animals in their house for one reason or another.
I have to say, between the clothing restrictions, dietary restrictions, drinking restrictions, sex restrictions, and now pet restrictions, I’m certain I’d never be able to hack it as a Muslim.
Heh. Who am I kidding? I’d never be able to hack it with any religion!
Anyway, back to the point, I liked Lockjaw & Kamala.

description

Ok, Kamala finally finds out that she’s not a mutant, but an Inhuman. That was an alright storyline with some cute moments. I didn’t love it or hate it. It was just…there.

description

Then we move on to the Grand Finale with the Inventor!
Uuuuuuugh.
By the time I got done with the whole Kamala’s Nemesis Showdown, my eyes were rolling out of my head.
First off, he’s a bird.

description

But I could have given that a pass, because lots of villains are kinda stupid.
Professor Pyg, anyone?
The thing that really made me sigh and moan was getting beat over the head with the Moral of the Story.

Our generation isn’t lazy and whiny. We have lots to offer the world!

And that is true about some kids.
Also, Kamala’s face in the panel below me just begs me to punch her. That’s the face every annoying kid makes when they’re wah-wah-wahing about how undervalued and underrespected they are.
*strangle, strangle*
Ugh. You have no idea, you little shit!

description

But after the millionth time Kamala gave that speech, I was over it.
Yeah, yeah, I get it. Shut the fuck up, and punch something already.
And I totally realize that I’m a crotchety old fart for feeling that way, but I just can’t help it. It was annoying and ham-fisted.
Plus, the resolution was a
We Can Do It If We Work Together!
cliche.

description

Sorry. That just wasn’t my cuppa.
Now get off my lawn!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Ms. Marvel, Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson , Adrian Alphona (Artist), Jacob Wyatt (Artist)

Leave a Reply

