Review: The Superior Foes of Spider-Man Vol.2: The Crime Of The Century

The Superior Foes of Spider-Man, Vol. 2: The Crime of the CenturyThe Superior Foes of Spider-Man, Vol. 2: The Crime of the Century by Nick Spencer
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

description
A D-List character buddy read with my Shallow Comic Reading pals!

description

I really struggled to finish this one. Just didn’t tickle me the way Vol. 1 did. A few moments here and there, but lacking overall. Nick Spenser had some help with the writing chores and that is probably why this one fell a little flat. Even Nick’s stuff in issues 8 and 9 didn’t quite measure up the shits and giggles of the last collection, and that stuff was the high point of the book. These were really the only issues that picked up where Vol. 1 left off. The rest was a resounding MEH. A bunch of less funny, individual short stories about the gang, a guy in a bear costume, and “The Looter”.

description

Steve Lieber’s art was still pretty good and Siya Oum contributed a really nice looking 4 page Beetle story where Daredevil made a brief appearance. Couple of other folks also filled in a few pages here and there, but nothing “Superior”, just ok.

description

Hardcore fans of the first volume might enjoy this one. I may come back again to see what happens to Boomrang and the rest of the Sinister Six (Five or Four or whatever) solely based on some pals reviews….or not.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

