Review: Dayblack by Keef Cross

DayBlackDayBlack by Keef Cross
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thanks to NetGalley for a free copy in exchange for an honest review.

Totally different, in this case, a good thing.
Vampire lives. In a town where pollution makes it darkness all day long, so he can act normally.
He works as a Tattoo artist, and modified his tat tool to suck the blood from his customers, who are mostly big booty ladies…kinda funny.
He also has a son, who’s actually a vampire hunter, but because Merce saw the angry face on one of those feed the starving wretches commercials on TV, he sent money for years, until the boy grew up and came to see him, calls him his dad, and makes an exception against killing dad.
All the Hunters are Mexican, and it explains why they all work labour jobs with access to sharp implements that no one questions…

Don’t let Trump read this or he will think it’s fact and scare the fanatics.

Another crazy thing? HIV is actually the way to kill vampires, and that’s why it arrived, and killed many vampires.

Just a couple whoa moments that seemed to be an interesting idea for a piece of fiction.

Vampires are also colour blind, other than red.

When he wants to get high, he has to find his dealer, get her to get high, then he sucks her blood enough to get high himself and save her from ODing…

It’s a crazy thing all around, and such a change of pace, I really enjoyed it. I look forward to another volume, more of his past as a slave, and his mother and what happened to her…


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

Leave a Reply

