Review: Wonder Woman Vol. 5: Flesh

Wonder Woman, Vol. 5: FleshWonder Woman, Vol. 5: Flesh by Brian Azzarello

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I prefaced my last Wonder Woman review with one for the guys. Well ladies, it your turn. It took me a half a roll of duct tape to pull off the tuck under necessary to sport this outfit. Enjoy.

description

Azzarello’s finally starting to bring all the pieces together with this volume. In addition to the Wonder Woman issues featured, this one also reprints Wonder Woman 23.2 First Born. It’s an even more detailed origin for the guy that’s been kicking everybody’s ass over the past 2 volumes. Not sure it was really necessary, but I appreciated that it’s been included here. Certainly explains in more detail why he’s so fucked up. I think this guy had sex with a hyena.

description

As if bestiality wasn’t enough, Azzarello also adds cannibalism to the menu. Apollo relaxes while Dio filets his half-brother like a London Broil. Talk about poking the angry bear. Apollo then continues to try to convince himself and the other gods that he’s here to stay. F.B. might have something to say about that.

description

Strife hovers about trying to live up to her namesake. I’m still struggling to figure out what this bitch’s angle is or if she just enjoys screwing with everybody.

description

Wonder Woman goes toe to toe with Artemis yet again. I like that Diana is starting to be a bit more cunning with this volume. The god of War should be a warrior and a tactician after all.

description

Dio has some alone time with Zola and Baby Zeke. They end up going hunting for “truffles”. Turns out it’s not exactly what Zola, or I for that matter, was expecting. Something seriously wrong with most of these gods. She has a baby for shits-sake. Weirdo.

description

And what the hell is up the gimp in the Minotaur cosplay? He better not have a ball gag on under there.

description

Finally, it all comes down to this. Its winner take all in the biggest scrap yet. Apollo is going to get a chance to put his money where his mouth is as the First Born steps up to take him on. Good luck dude, he had sex with a hyena.

description

Same group of artists as in previous volumes and the same consistent quality of work. Azzarello’s Wonder Woman continues to please. It’s getting a bit strung out at this point and, while I know I’ll be sad when this run is over, it’s probably about time to wrap it up.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

