Review: Grayson, Vol. 1: Agents of Spyral by Tim Seeley , Mikel Janin (Illustrations)

Grayson, Vol. 1: Agents of SpyralGrayson, Vol. 1: Agents of Spyral by Tim Seeley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

You might think you know Nightwing…you don’t know Dick.
*slow clap*
So, yeah, that’s a pretty cute tagline for DC’s new Grayson title.

description

So, you know how…ok wait. If you don’t know what happened to Dick in Forever Evil, then this might be a spoiler for you. Everyone else, feel free to keep reading.
*taps foot…waits*
So, you know how Nightwing gets captured, unmasked publicly, and then is killedish?

description

Well, Batman and Grayson have a big pointless fight scene in Nightwing: Setting Son, and Batman orders asks Dick to stay dead and infiltrate an organization that he wants to keep an eye on.

Love takes many forms…
description

Alrighty. This is all about Grayson’s adventure in becoming a double agent. And it’s all very Bondesque. The lies, the gadgets, and, of course…the ladies.
They even manage to throw in a few more Dick jokes.

description
description

So was this faboo?
Yes and no.
I loved the lighter tone of this one. The humor, and the lack of a gritty/grim feel to everything was so refreshing. I mean, just unbelievably refreshing.
Thank you, DC! More of this, please!
But the actual plot is a bit confusing.
WhatTheFuck is Spyral?
Yeah, yeah, yeah. Kathy Kane started this group to keep an eye on superheroes. But beyond that teeny little explanation, I have no idea what these guys are about. Are they good? Are they evil? Are they something else? What?!
From what happened in the opening sequence, I assumed they were straight-up bad guys bent on world domination, but by the end of this, I thought maybe some of them thought they were the Good Guys. And then I changed my mind. And then I changed it back. The whole thing left me confused.
And maybe that was the point, but I didn’t like it.
*stomps foot*

description

However, the good outweighed the bad. For me, at least.
I’m on board with this one, and hoping that they work out the kinks in the next volume, because I can see Grayson turning into something that could be one of my favorites.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publishers for giving me a digital copy to review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

