Batgirl, Vol. 1: Burnside

Batgirl, Vol. 1: BurnsideBatgirl, Vol. 1: Burnside by Cameron Stewart
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

(Received from Netgalley for review.)

I don’t get it. I really don’t get this book at all. I don’t get why this just seems like the dumbed down version of Batgirl. The tone and the villains kind of feel like a kids’ comic, but the actual content isn’t entirely kid appropriate. Which makes the whole book feel kind of weird, almost like they were reaching for all ages and totally missed. And since I don’t think that was the intention, it just feels weird.

Part of that vaguely “all ages” feel is because of the way Babs is written, yet another baffling thing about this book. Above all else, this Babs feels significantly younger than the way Simone had been writing her. She doesn’t feel any more mature than the teenage Babs in that Zero Year comic Simone wrote not that long ago. It’s almost like reading a version of Batgirl from sometime before The Killing Joke, at least. And eidetic memory aside, she just doesn’t seem to be very smart. There’s the fact that she apparently never backed up her thesis, which is just astounding to me. But she doesn’t trust the Cloud! As if that’s a valid excuse. Plus her weird foray into social media because… I don’t know, she just does, ok? And then there’s the unconvincing villains who shouldn’t pose a threat to her at all, and yet do. This just doesn’t feel like the Babs I know and love, and that makes me sad.

That’s kind of a shame, because I really do like the art. I actually really like the new design for Batgirl’s costume, and the art is consistent and consistently good from one issue to the next. I also kind of liked the way Barbara’s eidetic memory was demonstrated on the page. That much was kind of cool. But I just really didn’t care for this book overall. And I was really kind of looking forward to it, too.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

