Gotham Academy, Vol. 1: Welcome to Gotham Academy

Gotham Academy, Vol. 1: Welcome to Gotham AcademyGotham Academy, Vol. 1: Welcome to Gotham Academy by Becky Cloonan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was really, really looking forward to this book. It sounded and looked like something I’d enjoy. Boarding school! Vaguely gothicy stuff! Manga-esque art! And I liked that it was so different from the sorts of things that have been coming out of DC since Flashpoint. Unfortunately, this just didn’t quite deliver what I wanted it to.

It’s not bad, and I did like it. It does indeed have all those elements that I was looking forward to seeing in a DC book. But it’s also lacking in truly interesting characters, and the underlying story felt hollow to me. The characters were a big miss, because I can forgive a lot in a book if I love the characters. They just didn’t feel fully developed, especially main character Olive. She actually felt quite distant. I know that was intentional, because of her Mysterious Past. But it did make her a less than engaging lead.

The book, at least this volume, is very episodic. But there is some kind of Mysterious underlying story. I wish I was interested in seeing where it was all going, but I’m just not. It’s too vague, and I don’t have enough interest in the characters. Which kind of makes me sad, because I want this book to be great. And maybe it will be, on balance. But right now, it’s just pretty good, as long as you like this sort of thing. And I do.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

