Batman: Earth One, Vol. 2

Batman: Earth One, Vol. 2 (Batman Earth One, #2)Batman: Earth One, Vol. 2 by Geoff Johns
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

(Received from Netgalley for review.)

I had really, really liked the first volume of Batman: Earth One. This volume wasn’t quite as big of a hit for me. This may be because I’m kind of bored by this version of Bruce, and I don’t even really like this version of Alfred. So the leads do nothing for me. It may have also been because I just read a much better Riddler story (Snyder’s Zero Year) which made this one seem relatively run of the mill. And Earth One should be anything but run of the mill, right?

That isn’t to say that it’s all bad, or that there aren’t clever touches. It was interesting to see Croc as a basically benign character (sort of reminds me of Grundy in Robinson’s Starman, and more comics should remind me of Starman). Sure, he’s a character that often has shades of grey, pun not intended, but it’s even more pointed here. Also, there are huge changes to Two Face’s origin, and I’m honestly excited to see how that will play out.

I have to think that I might have gotten more out of this book if I had read it before Zero Year. That version of Riddler made this one look positively small time. Then again, I still don’t really like this Bruce, so maybe I would have been underwhelmed in any event. But will I still read more Earth One? I actually think I will.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

