Batman, vol. 6: Graveyard Shift

Batman, Vol. 6: Graveyard ShiftBatman, Vol. 6: Graveyard Shift by Scott Snyder
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

(Received from Netgalley for review)

This is kind of a mixed bag of odds and ends. Some of these stories are set during Zero Year, some are set after Damian’s death. Looking at the issue listing, it’s obvious that these really are just leftover issues between storylines. That isn’t necessarily a complaint. Not everything needs to be an enormous, year-long storyline.

Usually, that might mean that the quality of the individual issues varies. And actually, they don’t really. All of the stories are very good. And more than just being good, they each have character beats that add depth to the story. I always appreciate seeing those in superhero books. Of course, the stories set after Damian’s death dwell heavily on Bruce’s grief. And we all know how well Bruce deals with grief. (view spoiler)

The current stories focus quite a bit on Harper Row, and her budding career as vigilante Bluebird. I’m surprised at how much I like her. She’s tough, focused, determined, and she has a lot to learn. Yes, I do basically feel like she’s cannon fodder and she couldn’t possibly last beyond Snyder’s run, if that long. But I really like her, and I’d like for her to stick around a while longer.

For a bunch of filler, this is surprisingly good. I give credit to DC for putting in a note at the beginning of the book that says, essentially, that these are in-between stories. Maybe that helped manage my expectations, because I actually might have felt disappointed if I’d expected a cohesive narrative.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

