Review: Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More Vol. 1 by Kelly Sue DeConnick , David López (Artist)

Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, MoreCaptain Marvel, Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More by Kelly Sue DeConnick

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

 

 

I wasn’t a fan of the first volume one of Captain Marvel. I thought it was angsty and full of too much forced Girl Power.
Just my opinion…doesn’t make it true.
The title grew on me, but it never blew me out of the water.
Needless to say, I wasn’t expecting much when I cracked this open.
First things first, I’m into comics for the explosions, crazy superpowers, and funny dialogue. And if I happen to learn a moral lesson along the way? Bonus.
But.
You’ve gotta entertain me.
This 
was entertaining.

description

Carol seemed like a real person to me this time around, and not just a cliché female superhero for women to rally around.
She’s a Star Wars’ junkie, and she loves her mangy quasi-evil cat, Chewie. In fact, when she can’t find anyone willing to care for the beast while she’s in outer space, she sticks it in a crate and takes him with her.

description

The Guardians of the Galaxy show up for a little bit to help out when a mysterious enemy attacks her, which I personally loved!
Rocket and Chewie don’t exactly get off on the right foot, though. I mean, usually when Rocket starts screaming, “Kill it with fire!“, it’s not a good sign.
I think there’s more to this than meets the eye…

description

Did I mention Carol’s obsession with Star Wars?
Yeah, it’s cheesy, but it made me giggle…

description

The rest of the story is kind of Paint by Numbers, with Carol helping a group of folks who are getting evicted from their planet by Star-Lord’s father J’son. He claims the planet is poisonous…and is only trying to help them out.

description

It was pretty good, and there was (naturally) a bit of an evil overlord twist to the reasons Pete’s dad wanted them gone.
It’s not the bestest plot evah, but it was fun to read.
So. Yeah, this was kind of perfect for me.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: Higher, Further, Faster, More Vol. 1 by Kelly Sue DeConnick , David López (Artist)

Leave a Reply

