Review: Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman Vol. 1 by Gail Simone

Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman Vol. 1Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman Vol. 1 by Gail Simone

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

 

 

You take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and there you have…
Sensation Comics Featuring Wonder Woman
.

description

There were some seriously great little gems in this collection, but I just can’t bring myself to recommend this to anyone other than a HUGE Wonder Woman junkie. Or maybe as a gift for that special WW fan in your life?
I guess what I mean is, I really wouldn’t go back and read this for pleasure, but it would make a cool coffee table book.
Admittedly, I have odd taste when it comes to what I’d put on a coffee table.

There were a shit-ton of authors in this, and a few of them really tried (and succeeded) to come up with a one-shot story…plot and all!
But most of them just put a few pages down with different variations on the
Grrrrl Power
theme. Also, some of my favorite art in this went with some of my least favorite stories, which made it a real mixed bag for me.

My favorite was the mother-daughter story Brace Yourself:

description

It wasn’t a long one, but it had heart. Hippolyta tells the story of how Diana won the right to be Wonder Woman, but from a mother’s point of view. I’ll be the first to admit, I kinda swallowed a lump at the end.
*sniffle*
It’s hard to let ’em grow up…

I loved the art in Bullets and Bracelets:

description

But the story was shit. Diana is part of some Josie and the Pussycats kind of band, and in between gigs she dispenses justice to a sexist.
*throws up behind dumpster*
She even tells two guys that she doesn’t Dress the Way She Does to provoke (the religious nuts) or impress (the drooling guys)…but because she wants to.
Yay!
Now shut the fuck up and put on some pants, ’cause I can see your short ‘n curlies hanging out of those ridiculous short-shorts.

No Chains Can Hold Her was (to me) the worst of the bunch to look at:

description

It was (I’m assuming) supposed to be a nod at the Wonder Woman tales of yore when men were still a superior gender, and the ladies in comics still desperately wanted their opinions. I’ll give the author credit for trying to be funny, but it still wasn’t all that fun for me to read. Supergirl, Mary Marvel, and Wonder Woman fight off evil aliens. Blah.

Morning Coffee had adorable artwork, but the story was just meh.

description

Another Meh is Amazon Princess With 80’s Hair Fights a Dragon.
No, that’s not the real name…idiot.

description

Like I said, some were really good, some were really bad, but most were just ok. I wouldn’t want to actively discourage anyone from buying this, but I would suggest that you thumb through it first.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for a digital arc for review.
And speaking of…
I would list the authors and artists, but I noticed that some of the names were wrong on the covers I read, so I don’t want to put the wrong info down.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

