Review: Fantastic Four, Vol. 1: The Fall of the Fantastic Four by James Robinson, Leonard Kirk (Illustrator)

Fantastic Four, Vol. 1: The Fall of the Fantastic FourFantastic Four, Vol. 1: The Fall of the Fantastic Four by James Robinson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5 stars

Warning: If you are NOT up to date, there may be SPOILERS

I recently finished up Volume 1 of The Amazing Spider-man The Parker Luck, and Johnny Storm showed up to give Pete some advice. Since Peter has only recently reemerged as the dominate personality in his body, he had no idea that Johnny was de-powered.
And, quite frankly, neither did I.
Now, I’d love to say I read this specifically to find out how it happened, but I actually just lucked into it. It was, however, the highlight of this book for me. Not that how he lost his powers was all that amazing, but it felt good to be in the loop for once!
So, if you were wondering where to find that story, it’s in this one.

Anyway, poor Johnny.
Flame off.

description

It appears as though someone is perhaps out to tarnish the Fantastic Four’s image, and break apart their family.
Monsters from other dimensions break out of the Baxter Building and wreak havoc on Manhattan causing loss of life and millions in damage.
And (for once) it seems like the idiot keeping the giant portals in his house is actually going to be held responsible for the damage. Go figure, right?

description

Jennifer/She-Hulk represents the FF in the courtroom drama, and I won’t spoil the ending, but there’s lots of
EMOTIONS!
flying around at the end. Decent stuff, all of it.

Hey, did you know that Dr. Doom is now Uncle Doom?
Personally, I was unaware of this. But apparently Valeria is living with him in Latveria, where she has some sort of deal going with him. He is going to try to ‘be good’, and she gets some space from her parents who did something to let her down.
I need to go back and read some of the older titles to see what happened.
I still say she’s a creepy little thing, but I’m also insanely curious as to what her father lied to her about!


I can see the DEVIL in her eyes!

description

All in all, this was one of the more interesting installments of the FF that I’ve read. But I’ll admit I haven’t finished out Hickman’s run, and I know that he’s a fan favorite for this title. I’ll get to it eventually, though.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

