Review: Sinestro Vol. 1: The Demon Within by Cullen Bunn , Dale Eaglesham (Illustrator)

Sinestro Vol. 1: The Demon Within

 

 

Sinestro Vol. 1: The Demon Within by Cullen Bunn

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I kind of thought now that Sinestro was getting his own title he’d be…nicer? I mean, he wasn’t totally evil in The End, so I assumed that they were maybe trying to pull him into anti-hero territory.

description

Nope. He’s still pretty awful.
Lyssa Drak (the evil chick who was chained to the Book of Paralax, for anyone who cares) is the narrator for the first bit of the story. She tells the origin of the rise and fall that led Sinestro to this point in his story.
The (sort of) neat thing is that since she’s wacky/evil herself, she tells it like he’s a misunderstood hero.
Except he’s not.
And anyone who isn’t possessed by the crazy bug can see him for the control freak that he is/was…is.
At any rate, Lyssa worships Sinestro like he’s some nefarious boy band.

description

There’s a few interesting things that happen once Lyssa tracks Sinestro down, but mostly it’s jsut rock-em-sock-em stuff, as he takes the reigns of the Yellow Lanterns back.
Every now and then you get a peek at a decentish character, but he’s mostly too assy to get behind at this point.
However, he does sort of declare an uneasy truce with Hal and his daughter, Soranik. She agrees to (sort of) team up with him to find the remaining Kougarians who had fled the planet before it was destroyed, by…shit. I can’t even remember who blew it up?
Anyone? Anyone?
You know what? Doesn’t matter. Nobody is going to read this. You know why?
It’s A Sinestro Comic Book!
It’s me and one other nerd out there, that are even reading anything remotely related to the Green Lanterns!

*sigh*

The end had a twist to it that I really didn’t see coming. I mean, it’s foreshadowed in the blurb.
He’s so much more…
But I just thought it was more yammering overblown blurbyness.
It’s a word if I say so!

The last issue was a weird Future-thing.
Blech. No. I don’t like those, and DC needs to stop it.

Read it, don’t read it. I don’t care.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

