Review: Harley Quinn, Vol. 1: Hot in the City by Amanda Conner

Harley Quinn, Vol. 1: Hot in the CityHarley Quinn, Vol. 1: Hot in the City by Amanda Conner

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Ok guys, here is my rather late contribution to Sidekicks week.

As one may reasonably deduce from the rating, I disliked this book with every fiber of my being. It is a well known fact that in order to be a good comics fan, you must: 

(a) enjoy gratuitous violence
(b) not expect anything bordering on a plot unless as a last resort
(c) be prepared for all sorts of wild weirdness in the art

Or that’s what the Harley Quinn writers seem to think anyway. And to some extent, I am pretty much a person who reads comics for swashbuckling fun. Batman can keep his grim storylines and dark themes. I want some good ol’ fashioned brawling, dammit! That said, I didn’t sign up for this particular perfidy. JUST WHAT ON EARTH IS HAPPENING IN THIS BOOK?!

Let’s attack all the things I didn’t like one by one.

Firstly, as you guessed, the insane amount of killing that takes place. I get that it’s supposed to be dark humor and that this is Harley’s appeal and she’s a maniac, blah blah blah, but seriously, is there any need for people to die in literally every page? Bystanders that clearly have nothing to do with Harley and the plot just die. How is that supposed to be entertaining? This is coming from a person who watched The Raid and enjoyed it, so imagine how bad things are. I can feel the writer’s need to be shocking coming off in waves. So we get this:

Please. Cuddly animals drenched in blood? Should I feel something? No, the dogs eating a dude did not bother me. Yes, I was filing my nails at the time.

Then there is the plot. Or the utter lack of one. Your pick. When the story starts, we have Harley hallucinating about the writers in what is clearly an attempt to make it Deadpool-esque, but is just dead. It’s incredibly boring. Then for the remainder of the book, Harley rescues animals, collects rent, roller-derbies, and generally hits on Poison Ivy. I think. There is a brief interval of some rehashed kill-the-KGB plot with an old man that leads to this horror scene…

*beep*

For censorship and mostly technical reasons, this image will not be put up directly in the review.

Link here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bzi…

Note: this reviewer has nothing against geriatric romances, just the way this is depicted.

The graphics are nothing to write home about. It’s cute. That’s about it.

So do I recommend this? Not by any stretch of the imagination, especially after the ridiculous fashion in which it ends. In fact, what I would do…

*someone screams and blood spatters*

One thought on “Review: Harley Quinn, Vol. 1: Hot in the City by Amanda Conner

  1. Pingback: Shallow Reader Post: Harley Quinn | The Endless Reading List

Leave a Reply

