Review: Batman: Under the Hood Vol. 2

description

Yep, you guessed it. It’s red. His head…uuurr…helmet…aahhh…hood, I mean.

description

Winick’s Under the Hood storyline is stupid good. Should be required reading for any serious bat-fan. And while I thought Vol. 2 was not quite as fantastic as Vol. 1, it’s still awesome. Beware of some spoilers for those unfamiliar with the Red Hood or this story.

description

This book jumps around a bit. Winick fills in the gaps between Jason Todd’s death and resurrection in this collection. Judd also follows up on Vol. 1 and the fall-out from Red Hood’s ongoing war with Black Mask. I always thought of Black Mask as a second stringer at best before this run. Not really original. Been there. But, I actually like the angry fuck now. His back and forths with the Hood were well done and gave him some personality.

description

Some other great moments include Alfred reminiscing, Batman continuing his search for an explanation as to what happened to Jason after his “death”, and the final showdown between Batman and the Red Hood. Judd’s Joker was pretty sick too. You didn’t think Jason was gonna let him get away with killing him did you? There were a couple of things I should knock off half a star for including issues with the casket investigation, the weak connection to Ra’s Al Ghul, and not using Deathstroke more. Love Slade.). But I’m not, because Judd’s entertaining and ambitious story is ballsy and he took a real chance bringing back a character most thought of as being better off dead. Jason’s Red Hood remains to this day and I still like the guy more now than I ever did when he was Robin.

description

DC also brought in some great artists to complement Winick’s epic. Doug Mahnke returns along with new artists Shane Davis and Eric Battle. All three killed it and provided some beautiful work. Easily as good as the first volume in terms of consistency and I loved it. Jock did the covers for the individual issues and this might have been his audition for another Batman classic, the Black Mirror(read it).

description

Recommended to all my Batman peeps.

Get this review and more at:

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

