Review: Night of the Living Deadpool; by Cullen Bunn

Night of the Living DeadpoolNight of the Living Deadpool by Cullen Bunn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

At first, I thought this was about the walk of whore-ers…so I wondered why we had a whole theme of reading about Lono’s Wednesday afternoons…then I realized it meant SCARY Stuff (Then again, I’ve seen some of those Whores…yikes! and Lono’s balls? it’s like Emperor Palpatine’s neck in Jedi!). But I digress…

Anyhow, this is a short, fun, funny, and only conceptually scary book. It’s about zombies, so I know it counts. Also, it’s a tribute to the Romero films and enjoyable. I LOVE the colour palette, black, white, read, and other shades but those 3 are the best. The Covers are art. Pure art. I’d hang some on my walls, but then I’d have to take down the Dukes of Hazzard and Kathy Ireland posters…

This is one of the better Deadpool’s I’ve read; Cullen Bunn has a good handle on him now, and there’s not too much smartass 4th wall stuff, but just enough funny bits to make you chuckle in a good way.
“This is a Civil War Graveyard”
“We talkin’ Cap versus Iron Man or Patrick Swayze versus James Read?” ZING!

Superhero cribs smell more like testosterone and B.O. less like mold and fertilizer…

Singing Rush songs? “Working Man”…hilarious!

Making a Jack-o-Lantern out of a severed zombie head and a flashlight? So he can have his sword/gun hand free!

Complaining that killing zombies is actually kinda sad: “But I’ve played video games!”

Clarence, the AIM scientist zombie head companion, then the joke about every time a 9MM Rings…an Angel gets his wings!

Going out in a blaze of glory…”Young Guns Style”! Yes.

The plot itself is pretty decent too, Wade wakes from a food coma (all you can eat Chimichangas) to find that there’s a zombie apocalypse, and all the heroes are dead…except him, and some ragtag peeps in an El Camino all jacked up. There’s the usual stereotypes left in the party, and what happens is what we expect.
(of course the 8 week search for a perfect hideout until they find a terrible one is pretty funny)

Then the usual sliver of hope, and whatever happens from there, Deadpool puts himself into his work…and a different, yet nifty ending.
I’d love to see it continue in some way, but who knows. (We also get to see Bunn’s notes on what he might have done with the series in the back).

So pretty fun, some good laughs that hit my pop culture target, and we have a whore-if-eye-ing good time!


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , , , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

One thought on “Review: Night of the Living Deadpool; by Cullen Bunn

Leave a Reply

