Review: Guardians Of The Galaxy, Vol. 4: Realm Of Kings by Dan Abnett

Guardians Of The Galaxy, Vol. 4: Realm Of Kings

 

Guardians Of The Galaxy, Vol. 4: Realm Of Kings by Dan Abnett

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Oh well, what the heck. *shrugs*
I’ve been looking for an excuse to use this GIF for weeks.

description

This was pretty decent ending to Abnet’s Guardians, and now I’m sad that there isn’t more to his run on this title. So, I guess I’ve just got to go back and re-read all of the stuff surrounding the Realm of Kings storyline. And the stuff after that.
Eventually, I’ll catch up. I’m not delusional. I know that will never happen.

You see the panel below?
That’s Star-Lord, Thanos, and a cosmic cube.
For reals.
I know what you’re thinking. Didn’t Drax already kill that guy?
Yep.

description

And Thanos isn’t even the only problem! As annoying as an all-powerful Avatar of Death is, has anyone ever stopped to considered what would happen without one?

What happens when Life wins?

Hint: It ain’t pretty.

description

Ok there’s a ton of stuff that happens in this volume.
Dead team members turn out not to be not quite as dead as we thought they were at the end of the last volume.
Yay!
And then maaaaybe a few of them manage to get killed…again.

Oh, and hey! Looks like Drax is gonna be a grandpa!
Or something…

description

My point is that things happen. Lots of things.
Some of these things usher in huge changes for the universe, and some of them are more personal. More touching.
There is still humor in this last volume, but maybe not quite as much as in volume 3. I can’t in good conscience say that this was as awesome and enjoyable as the ones in the past, but it was still really good.

Plus, there’s the bonus Realm of Kings one-shot.
Hello, Cancerverse! I love the evil Avengers! And if you haven’t had a chance to read about these guys yet, you just don’t know what you’re missing.

description

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: Guardians Of The Galaxy, Vol. 4: Realm Of Kings by Dan Abnett

Leave a Reply

