Review: Invincible: Ultimate Collection, Vol. 1 by Robert Kirkman

Invincible: Ultimate Collection, Vol. 1

 

Invincible: Ultimate Collection, Vol. 1 by Robert Kirkman

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

All 5 stars, because it just doesn’t get any better!

description

I saw Robert Kirkman, and I was like, Isn’t that The Walking Dead guy?
And, yeah, I’ve read (and liked) TWD, but I’d rather read about capes ‘n tights.
And everyone knows that indie titles suck when it comes to making superhero comics, right?
Right?

So I was only a few issues into this when my son grabbed it and took off.
I’ve learned over the years that it’s easier (on me) to just find something else to read, than try to get my comics back from a teenage boy.
Also, I guess the neighbors think you “look odd” if you curse and throw your shoe at a kid…over comic books.
Apparently, that sort of thing is “frowned upon”.
*shrugs*
At any rate, I didn’t think I’d see this one for a while.

description

So imagine my surprise when later that evening that same kid jumps onto the couch with me, and starts obnoxiously waving Invincible in my face.
Kid: Oh! Oh! Have you finished this?
Me: No, you little shit you stole it from me, remember?
Kid: Well, you gotta read it! Right now! It’s really good! Here!
*flapping pages in my face*

Me: Look, I’m just getting to a really good part in this other book.
Kid: What’s that one about?
Me: It’s a retelling of Rapunzel on the moon.
Kid: *blank look*
Me: It’s pretty cool. You want it when I’m done?
Kid: *blank look*
Me: Is that a no?
Kid: Do I look like I have tits?
Me: *sighs* You might like it…
Kid: If I grow a vagina, I’ll come back for it.
Me: *snatches Invincible out of his hand*
Kid: Would now be a bad time to ask you to Make Me a Sandwich?
You know, he moves pretty fast for a skinny white kid!

But the point is, the little turd was right about Invincible.
This one is sooo worth your time! It’s exciting, touching, and unexpectedly funny.

description

I loved this! Markus, his family, his friends…everything about this entire world! Loved it all!
But I’m so scared that I’ll spoil things if I start going on about it.
So.
Just pretend that I’m just sitting on the couch with you, flapping this book in your face…ok?!
READ IT!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

