Saga, The Deluxe Edition, Vol.1

Saga Deluxe Edition, Volume 1Saga Deluxe Edition, Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

description

I’ve got some mixed feelings about this one. Part of me is wondering why the hell I waited so long to start reading this book and part is so friggin’ glad I did so I could read the first 18 issues all at once in this monstrous collection. And, it has about 70% of a boob on the cover. Cha-ching. The breast feeding baby chugging away is a bit of a bonerkill, but whatever.

description

Brian K. hasn’t delivered like this for me since I finished Y The Last Man. I think it’s my love for that series that foolishly left me wondering if he could make magic again and not just leave me wishing I had just reread Y instead. NO disappointment here. 18 issues of awesome. He does such a phenomenal job of creating characters I give a shit about. He takes some pretty unusual looking folks and gives them genuine voice. Alana’s wings or Marko’s horns almost fade away when they start to talk. They’re real people. I guess that’s what every good author should be able to do. This also helps Brian in building authentic feeling relationships between his characters. The connections between lovers, the interactions between parents and their children, and emotions between friends and enemies just rang true to me here. Brian K. Vaughn got me to give a shit about an overgrown fairy, a newly liberal satyr, and giant cat that says one word. Thought it was not possible. Then he goes and throws in just enough edginess to reel in a guy like me. A generous amount of violence peppers this one and it’s got the c-word. And how can I not just fall in love with a girl that says “Please shoot it in my twat”. Fuckin’ Shakespearian.

description

This is all topped off some pretty amazing art. Fiona Staples deserves as much credit as Vaughn in building this insane universe. She did an unbelievable job of giving faces to Brian’s wonderful voices. Her art is beautifully drawn and consistent. And she doesn’t shy away from the crazy shit either. Although Fiona completely freaked me out with The Stalk. Just too creepy no matter how much ground she can cover in the sack.

Some of my personal favorites are, of course, The Stalk.

description

Fard, the Fumunda-cheese giant.

description

Izabel, the bowel dragging ghost.

description

And Prince Robot IV smashing out.

description

So far Saga is just simply a great story about a couple trying to keep their child safe and everything that happens to them along the way. I would recommend this book to anybody. I don’t think I’m gonna to be able to wait for the next 18 issue collection.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

