Review: Doctor Strange, Doctor Doom: Triumph and Torment by Roger Stern

Doctor Strange, Doctor Doom: Triumph and TormentDoctor Strange, Doctor Doom: Triumph and Torment by Roger Stern

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

***This is the second of my “Green Theme” Buddy Reads with the Shallow Readers, criteria being: well Dr. Doom’s entire wardrobe is green.***

Firstly I got this only for Mike Mignola’s art but was pleasantly surprised with the wordsmithing Roger Stern provides. Speaking of the art it’s not quite as polished as his later Hellboy work but it’s still pretty great considering the time period (here’s a sample).

I know what you’re thinking what in the Holy Hoggoth would make these two polar opposites teamup? Actually the reason is very well done (i.e. Dr. Doom is a huge mommy’s boy) and I found it pretty compelling. Also I’m not terrible familiar with either character so I did like that both characters had condensed origins so it’s very new reader friendly. My only complaint about the main story is the conflict did seem to be resolved a bit quick considering how powerful Mephisto is.

Also included in my trade were a few classic tales featuring Dr. Doom and/or Dr. Strange that came off a bit dated but weren’t a total grind to read.

If you enjoy the mystical side of the Marvel U or just looking for some early Mignola art give this a go.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Doctor Strange, Doctor Doom: Triumph and Torment by Roger Stern

Leave a Reply

