Review: Glory: The Complete Saga

Glory: The Complete SagaGlory: The Complete Saga by Joe Keatinge

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

description

Heh, Pink Tacos…..Ok, now that’s out of the way.

description

Glory: The Complete Saga was a seriously fun book for me. It took me back to a time when I would pick up a copy of Heavy Metal Magazine hoping to find some ridiculously violent, fantasy tale or sexy, sci-fi epic drawn by some kickass artist I’d never heard of. And get a little nipple action. Glory delivers on all that and then some. I have to admit that it was the eye catching cover that got my attention. Then I realized that it was a character created by Rob Liefeld and I almost put it back on the self. But, this is a re-imagining of the character he created in Image Comic’s original heyday. So I gave it a try with no prior knowledge of the character other than that and I wasn’t disappointed.

Glory herself is a badass. She’s been compared to Wonder Woman in the past, but I wouldn’t call that accurate regarding this version of the character. She’s more like what would happen if Wonder Woman and Doomsday had a baby that grew up on daily regimen of crossfit, steroids, and mixed martial arts. Joe Keatinge gives a brief enough origin to give you an idea what’s her deal and moves on with the story.

description

The author jumps around in regards to the story’s timeline right up to the end. Moving back and forth was a little confusing for me at times, but I’m not going to be curing cancer or building rockets anytime soon, so that might just be me. I wasn’t in a hurry, so I did go back a couple of times just to make sure I was getting it. Keatinge definitely doesn’t just tell a straightforward story here. And while this method of storytelling has backfired for me in the past, it worked here. The story seemed to strike a good balance of enough familiar elements from other stories that I’ve enjoyed and some new twists to keep it fresh. And Joe doesn’t feel the need to spell things out with detail overkill. He’s content to leave some things unexplained or let the artist tell parts of the story and I’m just fine with that.

description

Joe introduces a variety of cool characters as the story moves forward. My favorites would probably be Riley (a young girl with a predestined connection to Glory), Nanaja (Glory’s foul-mouth and blood thirsty sister), and Henry (Glory’s brave alien(?) pal). A bunch of other old-school Image heroes make cameos, but this wasn’t a huge draw for me personally. Glory could really have happened in any “comic universe” had it not been for those guest appearances. I like that it almost feels like it’s independent of the other Image stuff.

description

Ross Campbell’s artwork is what really sold the book to me. He allows Glory to evolve through the book, starting with the more traditional female superhero appearance and moving toward something closer to the Hulk. I loved it. The art’s flow is consistent throughout the story (even with a couple of assists from a bunch of other artists) and the coloring was GREAT. The book has a bright color palette really pops.

description

Campbell also manages to scratch my itch for violence with some sufficiently bloody scenes. Great stuff. And I’m certainly not going to complain about his throwing in the occasional nipple or two.

description

Overall, Glory: The Complete Saga won me over with its quirky story-telling and non-traditional look. While it may not appeal to some of the more conventional super-hero comic readers, those that appreciate something a little different might want to give Glory and her humongous biceps a shot.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

