Review: Marvel Knights: Hulk: Transforme by Joe Keatinge (Goodreads Author), Piotr Kowalski (Illustrator)

Marvel Knights: Hulk: TransformeMarvel Knights: Hulk: Transforme by Joe Keatinge

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Mean GREEN Buddy Read with my fellow Shallow Readers!
Criteria for this one? Anything with a green character!

description

Whoo-Hoo!
I was pumped up for this buddy read, especially since I thought I’d picked out a real winner.

description

I don’t know about anyone else, but I didn’t actually pay much attention to the spelling in the title. I saw Marvel Knights: Hulk Transmumblemumble.
Well, turns out, transform is spelled that way because ta-da! it’s Hulk…in Paris!
I know, right? This should be fun!

description

Eh. It wasn’t a total loss, but it’s not as good as it sounds, either.
It starts off with Banner on a subway…sorry, Metro train acting weird. A nice young woman notices him, follows him off the train, and eventually helps him out.
She’s a good Samaritan, so (naturally) bad things will befall her family.
Who was this lady, and what does she have to do with the overall story?
*shrugs*
So why dedicate so much time into her story?
*shrugs*
Oooook.
Moving on!

Banner has amnesia, and some off-shoot of AIM lead by Nikoleta Harrow is after him. She evidently wants to prove that she (and AIM’s other bastard children) were not mistakes, by capturing and harnessing the Hulk’s power.
Or something like that.
Surprisingly, it doesn’t end well for her.

description

This was a decent bit of fun, but it felt like I was missing some Bigger Picture. I thought the Marvel Knights titles were self-contained stories, but maybe I’m wrong?
The biggest surprise for me was The Incredible Hulk #1 that’s included at the end of this book.
It. Was. AWESOME!
And, if you know me, you know that I usually don’t enjoy reading older comics. But this was really fun! Not only do you get to see Hulk in his original gray, but I didn’t realize that in the beginning, his transformations were linked to sunrise and sunset. Or that Hulk could ‘talk’!
Sure the dialogue sounds silly by today’s standards, but it’s definitely still worth reading.

Transforme itself was alright, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to recommend this to anyone but a Hardcore Hulk Fan. However, Hulk’s Origin story is something I’d recommend to anyone who enjoys comic books!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

