Review: Kingdom Come – by Mark Waid and Alex Ross

Kingdom ComeKingdom Come by Mark Waid
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

This is just about as bad a book as DK2.

There is a Power Girl Boob joke at the end, almost as if Waid read this and realized it had not a single moment of levity.

This is dark and right wing reactionary garbage. It’s scary because it doesn’t seem far off. Everything new or different or changed is bad. Also everyone in the justice league except batman and flash just abandon everyone.

Throw in the weird religious blunt hammering over the head…just NOT my cup of tea.

I’ve now read 2 horrid books in a row…both from Warner Bros…hmmm…

Sam hit all the nails on his review. Mark Waid, what the fuck? You have obviously grown. Thank god. Just move to Marvel…look what happens.

This just feels like every other stupid dark reactionary DC book of the last 30 years…Alex Ross art just seems like an excuse for the writer to just take a turd on the pages, and hope no one reads it. Honestly, Ross’ art isn’t amazing anymore. It’s the same every time, and just seems tired. It also seems like this is Justice all over again.

I’m sure Alan Moore and Frank Miller would love it.

Please, do NOT read this. You’d be better served poking yourself in the brain with a rusty spoon.

The cover was green..but I won’t drag my beloved Green Theme Week into this…


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

2 thoughts on “Review: Kingdom Come – by Mark Waid and Alex Ross

    • Nope, I couldn’t tolerate this much at all, just rambled on and made little to no sense, and never gave us any insight into the “new generation” that was so evil…just the same old DC gang.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

