Review: Indestructible Hulk Vol. 1 Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.

Indestructible Hulk, Vol. 1: Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D.Indestructible Hulk, Vol. 1: Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D. by Mark Waid

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

description

description

First Daredevil, now Hulk. A couple of characters that I haven’t really given much thought lately and Mark Waid goes and makes’em fun for me again. Hulk gets a fresh coat of green paint with Waid’s Indestructible Hulk. Much like Waid’s Matt Murdock, Bruce Banner gets a lot of face time in this one. I think it’s his Banner that really won me over with this title. From his job interview with Maria Hill to his pissing contest with Tony Stark, I love Waid’s take on Banner. He isn’t the “mopey teenager” (Waid’s words) struggling with his search for a cure (Shit, he’s been doing that since Bill Bixby in the 1970’s. Cue sad piano music).

description

Banner has accepted his anger management issues and is finally trying to make them work for him instead of against him. Bruce is finally going to redirect all the effort he’s been focusing on his search for a remedy and try and do something to make up for all damage Hulk’s been doing over the years. A bunch of new characters show up in the way of a team of scientists put together to help Banner with his new mission. Loved how Bruce fucks with them at their introduction. Curious to see where this is going. But that’s not all. Banner comes up with the idea of allowing Shield to use his angry side as a WMD. This little twist lets Waid to put Hulk right where the action is. Buncha great throw downs in this one.

description

Leinil Francis Yu provides the artwork in this one and fans of his other work will enjoy his stuff here. He draws a suitably large, enraged, and violent monster. While Yu has never been a draw for me, his work in this one is solid and I really dug his take on Hulk. Yu’s Iron Man was pretty bad ass too.

description

And you gotta appreciate an artist that finds a way to squeeze in the occasional “Boob Window” shot. Money.

description

Indestructible Hulk is an easy recommend for Hulk aficionados, Marvel Fan-boys (or girls), and Mark Waid enthusiasts. It’s a light hearted, action packed, and a refreshingly new angle on one of Marvel’s classic heroes.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

