Review: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 1 by Dan Abnett & Andy Lanning

Guardians of the Galaxy by Abnett & Lanning: The Complete Collection Volume 1Guardians of the Galaxy by Abnett & Lanning: The Complete Collection Volume 1 by Dan Abnett
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

***Green Theme Buddy Reads Book #2 – Again, Gamora and Drax ARE Green…as is Mantis, and a whole bunch of other alien characters…there’s my rationale***


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

This is not your Chris Pratt Guardians. This is the 2008 version, not the Bendis. I enjoyed it a lot, in the first half, but then, like the characters, it got too cosmic. “I hate that cosmic shit” This version also includes Adam Warlock and Quasar…but not the Wendell Vaughn Quasar I’m familiar with (this one is half-Kree, and possibly daughter of Captain Marvel). Mantis, a green telepath, and Cosmo, the intelligent Rusian cosmonaut Dog from the 60s…yep.

The gang is thrown into missions to save the Galaxy, haphazardly of course. There’s humour thank God, and it’s one of the strong points. The art is impressive as well, and the vast interesting-ness of the characters. The covers are GORGEOUS. The second half of the book goes off in side missions and not as the whole team…plus we get some time travel, and space time continuum stuff. The seat of your pants leadership style of Peter/Star-Lord is there again, and this team doesn’t trust each other as much either. Rocket isn’t quite as badass here, but definitely funny and aggressive. Groom kicks much ass. Warlock is a cool addition, though I recall him being a bad guy in other incarnations…?

It’s very deep, got some cool stuff there, but perhaps this throws one off the deep end in terms of cosmicness…start with Bendis’ more recent reboot from Marvel Now.

This is a fun book, but slows down a bit in the second half and I feel like I am missing a ton of contextual info about everyone…still worth a read, and enjoyable.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

Leave a Reply

