Review: Justice League Vol. 5 – Forever Heroes by Papa Johns.

Justice League, Vol. 5: Forever HeroesJustice League, Vol. 5: Forever Heroes by Geoff Johns
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

MUCH better than Trinity War…which is like saying a stomachache is better than diarrhea…they both stink.

So apparently Vol 5 does NOT follow Vol 4…I have to read Forever Evil first I suppose? To see how the Crime Syndicate defeated the JL.

Fun parts: Black Adam’s throwdown with Ultraman (too bad it only got a few pages, the art was stunning.) I would have liked to continue that.

Owlman’s backstory

The Doom Patrol’s cameo in New 52

The Metal Men

Cyborg becoming more of a stealth fighter jet than a B52 Bomber

Bad parts: Most of the good parts were stolen from Grant Morrison (C.S. to some degree, and Doom Patrol as well.)

Every Crime Syndicater other than Owl’s backstory.

Bad-Alfred looking like the Joker (pale skin and purple-y suit)

It’s called Justice League, yet it only features Cyborg. I’m surprised this didn’t run off into a Cyborg Title…has he ever had one?

So you gets your ups and your downs. I think I put it right on 3…it’s better than 2.5, so it’s just above average. That and it was a marked improvement from Trinity bullshit.


Image and video hosting by TinyPic

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

Leave a Reply

