Review: Harley Quinn, Vol. 1: Hot in the City by Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti

Harley Quinn, Vol. 1: Hot in the CityHarley Quinn, Vol. 1: Hot in the City by Amanda Conner

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Read as a digital arc. Thank you NetGalley and the publishers!

 

So, I didn’t like it.
The first issue was this somewhat interesting Dream Sequence, in which Harley has this ‘conversation with the writers’, and together they try out artists for her comic book.
I say somewhat interesting, because there was no real story here, but it was fun to see the different artists switch things up from page to page.
Here are a few examples:

Art Baltazar
description

Adam Hughes
description

Darwyn Cooke
description

So. There was that. And even though it didn’t do anything plot-wise, I had fun Googling some of the artists that I didn’t recognize.
In fact, that first little bit is the only reason I’m not give the entire volume 1 star, because after that it quickly went downhill.

Quick test.
Do you like slapstick?
Yes? Then you might enjoy this one.
Unfortunately, I have a low tolerance for sight gags.
So, after a while?
This:
description

Started to look like, well…
This:
description

And, hey, if you like that sort of thing?
Then, by all means, grab your poncho and pull up a seat.

Alrighty, the next question you need to ask yourself is this:
How badly do you want to see Harley and Ivy make out?
Again, personally, I liked that these two were friends (without benefits), but there’s enough lesbian H&I fanfic out there to convince me that I may be in the minority with this one.
Whoa!
Down boys! And girls!
It’s not like you’re going to get to see a money shot. However, lots and lots of innuendo later, it looks like these ladies have taken their relationship to the ‘next level’.

description

Anyway.
Harley befriends a psychotic old man, gets a bunch of pets, sleepwalks, and accidentally swallows some of Ivy’s date rape seeds.
Yum.
There are a few funny/memorable scenes, but not enough to make me want to recommend it to anyone.
I’m sure plenty of readers will love this, but it just wasn’t my cuppa.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Harley Quinn, Vol. 1: Hot in the City by Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti

Leave a Reply

