Review: East of West Vol. 1 by Jonathan Hickman

East of West, Vol. 1: The PromiseEast of West, Vol. 1: The Promise by Jonathan Hickman

I read this last night, followed right after by Vol. 2…I must disclose this to you my loyal followers and Shallows…I was high as fuck on Percs.

Therefore, I’m not sure, but I think this made it far more interesting to me than it had any right to be.
I woke up this afternoon to explain the basic plot to my wife, and afterwards, even I thought I was a raving lunatic…

In a parallel Earth, the American Civil War had an entirely different outcome. There were then 7 sectors that the US was divided into (Texas, New Shanghai, New Orleans, Dead Lands (Native) and some other shit.) The 4 Horsemen of the Apocalypse came to Earth minus Death, who didn’t show up. They’re reincarnated as Children this time…and all different colours…ya. So they’re actually the figureheads of a Religion called “The Message”.
Death is like the Clint Eastwood character, from Josey Wales/Unforgiven. Going around and revenging for being killed…wait…Death was killed? Umm…huh?
Turns out the heads of the 7 families/sections of US didn’t like him. He’s Tarantinoing them. With the help of his 2 trusty Native helpers, Wolf and Crow (these characters are black and white.) Death is all White instead of black, so we know with the cowboy hat, he’s the good guy…I think…
Then we discover he’s super pissed because they took his wife…Death had a wife…yup.
She’s this Asian girl, who’s the daughter of MAO V, the 5th descendant of Mao Zedong…ya.
Then he gets info, and goes and with his 2 helpers, destroys the ENTIRE New Shanghai army.
She’s not happy to see him, because she blames him for the death of their child…ya…Death has a kid!
Then he reveals something, and goes on a quest…

description

Ya. Me too Slim. Me too…

If I hadn’t been high this might have hurt my head. Instead, it’s like when you’re super exhausted but you stay up to watch a shitty B-movie on late night TV, and are very amused by it.
I was amused, I smirked, and was like…OK sure why not.

However…this is a derivative piece of writing which I’m amazed hasn’t got Hickman sued 10 ways til Tuesday. It’s a ripoff of just about EVERYTHING.

So I’m very conflicted, because I see that, but yet, my altered state found it amusing, but not enjoyable…I mean, it was better than Justice League Trinity War…(sorry Anne!) but still…I’m not going to say it was good. It wasn’t bad. It just was.

I read part 2 as well…because I got high.

description

I don’t feel like I should recommend this, but I also feel like it’s a trip…Kinda like watching The Wall movie…same rules: DON’T DO IT SOBER!

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , , , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

Leave a Reply

