Review: Hawkeye: L.A. Woman

Hawkeye, Vol. 3: L.A. WomanHawkeye, Vol. 3: L.A. Woman by Matt Fraction

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Not much this guy can add to the long list of positive reviews for this one. Sam pretty much hit the nail on the head for me. Right down to the Elliot Gould shout out. Before going into this one you should know that Clint is pretty much M.I.A. from the book. Don’t let deter you from checking this out, but I was a little disappointed not to see a bit more of him.

description

So Kate and Pizza Dog take off for the west coast to start somewhere fresh. Easier than it sounds for a broke kid new to L.A. Kate has to show some adaptability to make ends meet and ends up working as a private eye. Fraction writes Kate so well in this. She’s my kinda girl. *cough* If she was a little older that is. Great new locations and amusing additions to the cast of characters really manage to give this volume a “West Coast” feel. Couldn’t help but think of all the great west coast detective stories that came before. Pretty sure Chandler would’ve approved.

description

Annie Wu did a fantastic job on this book. Having such amazing art in the first two volumes had to have made her nervous. It don’t show. Loved her work and it was PERFECT for the material. The mug shot was priceless. Certainly will be looking for Annie’s stuff down the road.

description

While I miss Clint and probably liked this collection a hair less than the last two, it’s still not to be missed. Even sans Barton, admirers of Fraction’s earlier Hawkeye stuff can’t go wrong picking this one up. So, in the interest of not repeating everything that’s already been said about this book, get it. It’s really good.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

