Review: Kick-Ass 3

Kick-Ass 3Kick-Ass 3 by Mark Millar

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Kick-ass 3 is pretty much more of the same. If you liked Kick-ass 2 and Hit-Girl, you can pretty much count on finding a little something to enjoy in this one. It picks up right after the last volume and most of what I liked about the earlier collections can be said for this one. The kids are all growing up and starting to get hair in strange places. Millar decides to let Kick-Ass get a regular girl and with that comes regular sex. Amazing about how your first regular piece of ass cuts into your street patrol time. The Mother-Fucker is back too. Still an asshole. Couple of new baddies debut as well. No one to terribly original. This could be said about the whole volume really. It’s also a little longer than in probably needed to be. But I did enjoy the way Millar and Romita finally wrap this one up though.

description

Hit-Girl still has a special place in my heart. I’m forever entertained by that foul-mouthed little bad ass. The affectionate way she calls Dave a pussy warms my heart. Millar also takes the time to fill in some more blanks in Mindy’s history leftover from the Hit-Girl collection.

description

The violence didn’t seem as off the hook as the previous volumes. Maybe I’m just gradually growing more and more callous. This series seems to get progressively less shocking as it goes. Still earns a solid “R” rating though kiddies.

description

Romita’s art is nice. Again, more of the same. If you liked him before, you’ll like him here. Nice coloring as well.

Overall it’s a recommend to fans of the previous books or movies. Make sure to stick around after the credits.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

