Review: 3 Guns

3 Guns3 Guns by Steven Grant

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

2 Guns , both the book and the movie, were a guilty pleasures of mine. Never a big fan of Steven Grant, I was pleasantly surprised by the first title. A buddy/action flick that worked for me. Not great, but good. 3 Guns, not so much. Grant seemed to struggle with breathing genuine life into his characters with this one. They lacked the personality that Walberg and Washington brought to them on the big screen and that was a little more palpable in the first book. I actually read the first book before seeing the movie, so I didn’t have anything to compare that one to. Maybe that’s why the 3 star review. I don’t know, have to re-read it down the road. This one, however, just never got off the ground for me. And believe me, I wanted it to.

description


Grant seemed to be going through the motions trying to get this out as close to the film’s release as possible. The Russian, the psycho, the double agent, the tough chick, and a bunch of faceless lackeys that are there solely to get shot the hell up. The story was thin and rushed along towards its conclusion. I get that it’s like an action movie in a comic, but this was more like a weak action movie sequel in a comic.

description
Emilio Laiso did a decent job with the art. A lot of his characters look similar with different hair styles to tell them apart. Overall though, he appeals to me. I can see him getting better with more experience. Rafael Albuquerque provides some nice cover artwork for the series.

description

3 Guns is a step backwards for Grant. He does leave himself some options in regards to another follow up, but it’s not something I will be anxiously awaiting to land on store shelves down the road. Only a recommend for die-hard fans of the first book.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

