Review: Spider-Man: Big Time

Spider-Man: Big TimeSpider-Man: Big Time by Dan Slott

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Buddy read with those crazy, comic book readin’ kids, Jeff and Anne .

description

I really fucked up giving Dan Slott’s Spider-Man a pass all these years. He’s pretty darn good at writin’ ole’webhead. Slott’s stuff is the BEST Spider-Man I have read in years, if not ever. Dan really changes things up with both Peter and Spidey in this one. New girl, new job, and new life and it’s a breath of fresh air. I love that Slott actually give Peter a shot at being happy. I mean a guy that’s smart enough to create web-fluid (I mean the Spider-Man kind, not the “Regular-Man” kind) should be able to get a fucking job doing something intelligent. Of course, all of Spidey’s regular cast is present and accounted for. But, the new job brings in a bunch of fresh supporting characters for Slott to play with and I for one really appreciated the new faces. Like the change up from Mary Jane too. Peter needed some strange. Slott’s Hobgoblin is pretty kick-ass. Great baddies in this one.

description

And boy do I have a man crush on Humberto. His distinctive cartoony goodness is so appropriate for this title. His stuff has such great energy. His layouts are crazy, but readable and really showcase his talent. I read reviews that trash him for being too unrealistic or that everyone sort of looks like a caricature. This is exactly what I appreciate about him. Can’t miss his stuff. Ramos gets a shot at drawing a whole catalogue of Marvel heroes and villains in this one too. The Avengers, the Fantastic Four, the Sinister Six, Hobgoblin, Kingpin, Venom all manage to at least drop by. Awesome.  I just wish he would have found a way to squeeze in a couple of more shots of Black Cat’s knockers.

description

My only complaint is that I didn’t give Slott’s Spider-Man a shot until after reading his terrific run on Superior Spider-Man. While not required, it would have been great to have read this stuff first and built up to that as a climax. Either way, I am officially a Slott fan and intend on searching out his (and Humberto’s) Spidey stuff. I have been seriously missing out. Here’s one more in case you missed the last one.

description

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

