Review: Zero Vol. 2 “At The Heart Of It All”

Zero, Vol. 2: At the Heart of It AllZero, Vol. 2: At the Heart of It All by Ales Kot

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Zero Vol. 2: “At The Heart Of It All” has a lot in common with Zero Volume 1 “An Emergency” . It continues to jump back and forth in time to tell the story of Edward Zero. He’s like the new, NC-17 rated Jason Bourne for those of you that missed Vol. 1. Ales continues to tell his origin and what will likely be his ultimate demise at the same time in his own peculiar way. I continue to enjoy all the action and violence, as that’s sort of my taste, but I do agree with Joe in that I’d like to see something come together by the next volume. Ales will hopefully offer a little more of an explanation as to what he is building towards with these first two collections. I’ll be patient. Kot’s odd style appeals to me so it’s really not that hard. And all the ultra-violence helps to pass the time.

description

Agent Roman Zizek and Director Cooke are back at it in this collection as well. Like a couple of middle aged, frumpy jackrabbits those two. Less flabby man-ass visible in this volume though, so that’s a plus. Kot gives a little more insight into where their coming from as well. I think. Kot certainly isn’t spoon feeding answers to the reader at this point and the story could accurately be described as unclear at times. Ales also continues to hint at the program that birthed Edward Zero. Hopefully more on that later. None of the really confusing sci-fi stuff that suddenly appeared at the end of the first collection in this one. For me that’s also a good thing. This one’s a little light on dialogue too. Didn’t matter much to me as the artwork tells part of the story, but it might bother some folks. A very quick read.

description

Vanessa Del Rey, Matt Taylor, Jorge Coelho, Tonci Zonjic, and Michael Gaydos all provide the artwork in this one. As in Vol. 1, each illustrates one issue. While their styles varied dramatically, all of them were pretty good and none stood out as a stinker. I guess if I had to choose Vanessa, Jorge, and Michael were probably my favorites.

description

Overall, Kot and his clown car of artists continue to hold my attention telling the wonderfully violent story of agent Edward Zero. While I remain a bit confused as to the direction Edward’s headed, I’m certainly having a good time going along for the ride. So I’ll keep my fingers crossed and give Ales another volume to help clear some things up before I decide to get to steppin’ in search of something a little easier to follow.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

