Review: Run Like Hell

Run Like Hell OgnRun Like Hell Ogn by Jeff Dixon

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Run Like Hell was a great recommend from my boy, Gavin. This book is off the chain, grindhouse ridiculousness. Unique among the stuff I’ve read, Jeff Dixon comes up with an original tale that follows Louis Rockwell’s attempt to escape from Hell. If he doesn’t make it out he’s gonna end up in Personal Hell’s Prison, where you’re forced to repeat your worst nightmare over and over. Guess he shouldn’t have ticked off the “big guy”. Of course Chad, the Dark Lord’s assistant, isn’t about to just let him leave and so the chase is on. Louis also ends up in some pretty funny places while trying to elude the Devil’s minions. Pet Peeve Point is probably my favorite. Every little thing that has ever annoyed the shit out of you can be found here. Reality TV, drunken frat boys, gum on the sidewalk, people on cellphones, pan-handlers, and John Tesh fans just to name a few.

description

The sketchy color artwork is really well suited to the book and Karl Slominski did a bang up job with this one. I think he really nailed interpreting Dixon’s insanely violent and crazy vision of Hell.

description

All in all, Run Like Hell is a fun, crazy, bloody romp filled with murderous clowns, freaky demons, dangerous mimes, and one annoying British dude. Thanks for the recommend Gavin, it’s definitely my bag.

description

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

2 thoughts on “Review: Run Like Hell

  1. Cool, hopefully he can parlay this into more work. Like his style. Look at you tweeting creators and shit. Last time I tweeted someone it took 40 minutes to get the pepper spray out of my eyes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

