Review: Injustice: Gods Among Us Year 2: Volume 1

Injustice: Gods Among Us Year 2, Vol. 1Injustice: Gods Among Us Year 2, Vol. 1 by Tom Taylor

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Damn Tom, three in a row. Tom Taylor’s Injustice: Gods Among Us title gets it’s hat trick with this, the third volume in the series. Never woulda thought a series based on a video game set in an alternate reality could be better than the DC universe’s “actual” reality (the New 52). Now that I think about it, comparing it to most of the New 52 isn’t saying much, but shit is this GOOD. I’m actually wishing this was the New 52, but DC doesn’t have the balls for that. After the first collection I remember thinking “no way Taylor can keep this up past the first volume”. Ate those words. And now he continues to write the series that’s neck and neck with Snyder’s Batman competing for my favorite ongoing DC title. Injustice: Gods Among Us Year 2: Volume 1 is really that good.

description

Green Lantern fans will certainly find something to love in this one. There’s plenty of Lanterns to go around. Most of this collection focuses on Hal, but John Stewart, Kyle Rayner, Guy Gardner, and a bunch of other all-star Lanterns take part in the action. While Hal has never been my favorite GL, I really ended up wanting to pimp-smack the shit outta the man in this one. Of course you can’t have Hal around without inviting Sinestro. And he is his good ole’ ruthless self in this one. Really like the parallels Taylor draws between Sinestro and Supes. Taylor’s story, while set in an alternate reality, seems to really channel how these classic DC characters would act and interact lending a high level of plausibility to the title. This is how these characters might really react given these circumstances. I just love it. Add to that the fact that Taylor’s not afraid to kill a guy and it doesn’t get much better. Couple of folks bite the dust in this one.

description

Black Canary, Babs Gordon, and the rest of Batman’s little league sort of take a back seat in this volume. But it’s clear that Tom is setting up something involving that group in the next collection. Still, gotta agree with Kat in wishing there was more Bats. Superman continues to play the part of dictator and may have finally sold his soul at the end. But there are moments when you can still see the old “boy in blue”. Still hate him though.

description

Bruno Redondo and Julien Hugonnard-Bert provide all of the terrific artwork in this collection. Every artists involved in this title since it’s beginning have done a great job of providing illustrations that are nicely drawn and consistent in appearance and style. Fucking great.

description

Hurry up with Injustice: Gods Among Us Year 2: Volume 2 DC. I’m chomping at the bit to get my hands on it. Read this one in one sitting and it’s an easy recommend. Hope you like it as much as me.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

