Review: Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2: Angela by Brian Michael Bendis

Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2: AngelaGuardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2: Angela by Brian Michael Bendis

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m giving this 4 stars entirely based on the awesome Bendis-banter!
But there’s also a lot of stuff wrong with this volume.

What I loved was the dialogue. It’s just plain fun.
Peter, Rocket, and Tony’s interactions with everyone kept this volume from sinking like a stone. I just don’t think you can beat Bendis’s writing when he’s on his game. I’m a huge fan! Huge!
I also liked Angela’s backstory. The idea that there’s a planet called Heven out there, and that humans are creatures of myth on it?
Very cool.
The Gamora/Tony hook-up was funny, as well.
description
And Tony getting a bunch of useless that would have been nice to know that ten hours ago! advice from Rocket Raccoon was the icing on the cake!

Hmmmm.
Ok, I hate to do it, but I don’t want you to go into this one with sky-high expectations. ‘Cause this thing is suffering from quite a few issues, and (quite frankly) they almost ruined my unicorn and rainbows experience.
Lucky for me, I’m easy to please…

First, and quite possibly the biggest problem with this volume, was the mediocre crossover attempt with the Age of Ultron storyline.
Are you following Age of Ultron? Have you read how it ends?
I haven’t.
So, to say this conclusion was slightly confusing to me, would be an understatement.
I’m still trying to muddle my way through the Infintiy event, which (I guess?) leads up to Age of Ultron.
Don’t take my word for that. I have little to no idea what I’m talking about when it comes to recent Marvel NOW! Events
Anyhoo, I sort of got the gist, but there are hunks of pertinent information missing if you aren’t totally up to date on stuff.

Ok, while I loved Angela’s character, her outfit was a hot mess.

description

Where are your panties, girl?!
I think I see a tiny piece of cloth peeking out from under her belt.
Could that be a part of her mythical underwear?

And what are those stupid flapping ribbons doing for you?!
Nothing, that’s what. At first I thought maybe she used them to poke her enemies’ eyes out, or maybe they fluttered in front of her to block bullets. But no. They’re just free-floating strings.
Very useful in battle, if I do say so myself!

Hello, Winged Headgear!
You know, just the other day I was sitting around thinking to myself:
Gee, I sure wish the artists could come up with some way to add a headband with giant fucking wings onto the next superhero!
I mean, sure, Thor has wings on his helmet…but they’re teeny-tiny.
I want big-ass wings! The kind you can see from space!

Cross-dimensional Wonderbra made of metal? Nice!
If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times, I really need a a strapless bra made from some sort of hardened alloy.
Because comfort and practicality count in an undergarment!
And with this kind of ergonomic design?
Daymn! Don’t try to stop me from snagging one of these babies!

Alrighty, these next three are just honorable mentions, but they collectively sucked out a piece of the enjoyable reading experience for me.

1) Where did Tony go? One issue he’s a huge part of the story, and the next issue…Poof!…never to be seen again.

2) The art makes a sudden change midway through the volume, and turns into scritchy-scratchy, fugly artwork. Why?
Fans of this style won’t feel this way, obviously, but it bothered me.

3) Gamora is the Most Dangerous Woman in the Universe, right?
As in, that’s an actual alias for Gamora, not just a description of her talents.
Well, not any more!
For such a badass, she sure got the shit kicked out of her every other page. And I’m not talking, somebody managed to land a lucky punch, either.
Nope. I’m talking about several full-on beat downs.
Some no-name bounty hunter pwned her so hard that the other Guardians had to step in and save her.
Then Angela popped up few pages later, and spanked her ass like an unruly toddler.
Which really doesn’t make sense later on when Thanos’ goons take down Angela as easily as a kitten. ‘Cause, um, isn’t Gamora Thanos’ daughter?

I think I’ve bitched too much, so I’ll stop.
This was a blast to read, and even with all the flaws, I’d still recommend it!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

