Review: Demon Knights, Vol. 1: Seven Against the Dark by Paul Cornell

Demon Knights, Vol. 1: Seven Against the DarkDemon Knights, Vol. 1: Seven Against the Dark by Paul Cornell

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

4.5 stars

This was easily one of the best titles I’ve read this week!
And, just so you know, I’m not generally a fan of the Sword and Sorcery stuff, or any of that Medieval Times bullshit.
No. Just no.
description

So what did this title have that held my interest?
Humor!
Well, humor and a distinct lack of that goofy Prince Valiant speech pattern.
Although, DAMN that pageboy haircut was frekin’ sexy!

Growr!

description

Alright, here’s my (veryveryvery) uneducated theory on why writers should just skip trotting out the Thee’s and Thou’s, when dealing with this time period.
First (and foremost), it’s annoying.
I don’t see that you need another reason, but I’m going to give one anyway.
Second, it’s annoying.
Kidding!
Third, I’ve always been under the impression that most of the little serfs and whatnot, were all basically uneducated, untraveled, and unhygienic. I’m thinking most of the villages and towns were filled to the brim with people who hadn’t ever been more than 20 miles away from the spot they were born in. So you’re going to have big fat language barriers everywhere you go, due to local colloquialisms.
Even today, the meanings for words in English, mean different things in different countries. Can you imagine how diverse things were back then?
I honestly think you’d need a better translator than the King James Bible, if you went back in time.
So.
Skip the bullshit, and just let the characters talk, ok?
If it makes you feel better, you can always pretend that it’s got one of those
<>Translated From Kryptonian<> things on the top of each page.
And for those of you who enjoy that tooty-fruity stuff…you’ve still got Etrigan!

Blessedly, Demon Knights did just let the characters speak in normal voices.
It let them make jokes! Real jokes!
Not those stupid, ‘Thou art the hind end of a horse!’ jokes.
Those aren’t funny.
And I apologize to any of my D&D playing friends who think that they are.
You guys are awesome! Rock on little nerds!

This was a fun story, filled up with cool characters, and set in a surprisingly interesting (for me, anyway) world.
There’s enough backstory on most of the characters that I didn’t get that Ha-Ha-You’re-A-Newbie-And-Nobody-Cares-That-You-Don’t-Have-A-Fucking-Clue feeling while I was reading.
And that was a fear of mine, since I’d never heard of most of these guys.

Good stuff!
Not everybody liked this one, so check out some of the other reviews if you’re on the fence about this title.
Here’s what a few of my friends had to say:
Mike’s review, Sam’s review, and Gavin’s review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

