Review: Deadpool VS. S.H.I.E.L.D.

Deadpool, Vol. 4: Deadpool vs. S.H.I.E.L.D.Deadpool, Vol. 4: Deadpool vs. S.H.I.E.L.D. by Brian Posehn
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

description

There is certainly some funny moments in Deadpool VS. S.H.I.E.L.D.. Agent Coulson discussing Master Baiters, the Watcher thinking maybe he should get a little more involved, the tribute to Aliens in part 3, and Wade’s hysterical trip through airport security. I think the only things that keep me reading this title are the adolescent puns and ultra-violent action that moves the story along at a good clip. Wade’s inner monologue can be amusing at times. This story is a continuation of the ongoing storyline that started way back at issue one. Probably wouldn’t recommend picking this one up if you’re not up to date on the previous volumes because you will be all kinds of lost. No real laugh out loud moments for me in this one, but certainly some smiles. Ok, maybe “Wieners are my spinach” made me chuckle. Not sure if it’s enough for me to pick up the next one though.

description

The art in most of the book was serviceable. Not really too keen on the throwback tribute to Jack Kirby in the first issue collected. Was never really a fan of the O.G. back in the day. Still, gotta RESPECT. The rest was ok. Not great. Just mediocre, kinda like the writing. Did appreciate that they did NOT dial down the violence. This one is bloody as all get out. I think I would recommend this one to fans of the first three volumes in the series or Dead-Heads only. Others might want to pick this one up at the library or give it a pass altogether.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , by Lono. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lono

I spend most of my time thinking about comics, tattoos, guns, beer, comics, my kids, comics, my wife, bourbon, samurai, comics, boobs, and English Bulldogs. And very rarely, if ever, think about work. I’m the less literate, rarely appropriate, knuckle-dragger of the bunch. I’ll make any excuse to hang out with my Shallow Reading pals, nerding out about comics, and avoiding responsibility at all costs. Only my name has been changed to protect the justifiably embarrassed. For completely un-waxed full frontal nudity, hit me up over at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

