Review: Captain America Vol. 3 by Ed Brubaker

Captain America by Ed Brubaker, Vol. 3Captain America by Ed Brubaker, Vol. 3 by Ed Brubaker
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This isn’t a 3-star book. It’s close, and more out of enjoyment of the artwork and residual love of Brubaker’s epic Cap run.

There’s someone hunting down ex-Super-Villains who are in Witness Protection…
It’s Scourge…or at least, the new version of Scourge.

This is sorta a reboot of the Scourge of the Underworld from the 80s Marvel, who went around killing…yes, members of the Underworld.

This one is tied in with Madame Hydra, and doing things to make Cap look like he doesn’t know what he’s doing.

Dum Dum, Sharon Carter, and a few others show up, but really, the meat of the book is Cap discovering Scourge’s identity, and the ramifications of that discovery and subsequent actions.

There’s also included a classic (1987 Mark Gruenwald) Cap issue which ties into the current story.

More for the emotional toll that things take on Cap do I give this 3 stars…on the whole it could have been pared down a little.

It really feels like Brubaker is running out of gas, which seems to be what he’s transferring to Cap in this, and if so, that’s OK, because it is about the only interesting part of this.

Take or Leave, but it’s not Brubaker’s best, there’s far more Cap stories that are better.

Get this review and more at:

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Comic review and tagged , , , , , by Gavin. Bookmark the permalink.

About Gavin

I'm a lover of pop-culture, from movies to music to books to TV shows to well...comics, and just about everything in between. I'm also a history buff, and spent 4 yrs getting a fancy BA in it. When I was at said University, I got my learn on AND spent all my money on CDs and VHS (yup, I'm THAT old.) However, I'm happy to discuss any topic really, as I love a good debate or just to be proven right. I'm Canadian, so I wear shorts and flip flops 9 months of the year, but no, I am NOT fanatical about hockey (I actually prefer baseball, thank my American father for that!). I love the outdoors, but don't get out enough... I've got a sick twisted sense of humour (hence why I'm friends with these Shallow folks) and believe that laughter is the best medicine...except penicillin...cause laughter won't cure the clap.

Leave a Reply

